Buenas tareas

Solo disponible en BuenasTareas
  • Páginas : 17 (4208 palabras )
  • Descarga(s) : 0
  • Publicado : 13 de octubre de 2010
Leer documento completo
Vista previa del texto
History of FIFA world cup

No other sporting event captures the world's imagination like the FIFA World Cup™. Ever since the first tentative competition in Uruguay in 1930, FIFA's flagship has constantly grown in popularity and prestige.

A group of visionary French football administrators, led in the 1920s by the innovative Jules Rimet, are credited with the original idea of bringing theworld's strongest national football teams together to compete for the title of World Champions. The original gold trophy bore Jules Rimet's name and was contested three times in the 1930s, before the Second World War put a 12-year stop to the competition.

When it resumed, the FIFA World Cup rapidly advanced to its undisputed status as the greatest single sporting event of the modern world. Heldsince 1958 alternately in Europe and the Americas, the World Cup broke new ground with the Executive Committee's decision in May 1996 to select Korea and Japan as co-hosts for the 2002 edition.

Since 1930, the 16 tournaments have seen only seven different winners. However, the FIFA World Cup has also been punctuated by dramatic upsets that have helped create footballing history - the UnitedStates defeating England in 1950, North Korea's defeat of Italy in 1966, Cameroon's emergence in the 1980s and their opening match defeat of the Argentinean cup-holders in 1990....

Today, the FIFA World Cup holds the entire global public under its spell. An accumulated audience of over 37 billion people watched the France 98 tournament, including approximately 1.3 billion for the final alone, whileover 2.7 million people flocked to watch the 64 matches in the French stadia.

After all these years and so many changes, however, the main focus of the FIFA World Cup remains the same - the glistening golden trophy, which is the embodiment of every footballer's ambition.

South Africa 2010

o Winner: Spain
o Runners-Up: Netherlands
o Third: Germany
oFourth: Uruguay
o adidas Golden Ball: Diego FORLAN (URU)
▪ adidas Golden Shoe: Thomas MUELLER (GER)
▪ Best Young Player Award: Thomas MUELLER (GER)
▪ adidas Golden Glove: Iker CASILLAS (ESP)
▪ FIFA Fair Play award: Spain
Germany 2006

o Winner: Italyo Runners-Up: France
o Third: Germany
o Fourth: Portugal
o adidas Golden Ball: Zinedine ZIDANE (FRA)
▪ adidas Golden Shoe: Miroslav KLOSE (GER)
▪ Yashin Award for the Best Goalkeeper: Gianluigi BUFFON (ITA)
▪ Best Young Player Award: Lukas PODOLSKI (GER)▪ FIFA Fair Play award: Spain,
▪ Brazil
▪ FIFA Award for the Most Entertaining Team: Portugal
Technical Report
Italy won their fourth world crown in Germany, beating France on penalties in Berlin. If Zinedine Zidane's red card was the Final's defining image, Italy's triumph would be remembered as a team effort with tendifferent Azzurri players finding the net. It was also a special month for Germany, the goals of Miroslav Klose helping secure third place in a tournament memorable for the festival mood across the host country.
Korea/Japan 2002

o Winner: Brazil
o Runners-Up: Germany
o Third: Turkey
o Fourth: Korea Republic
o adidas Golden Ball: Oliver KAHN (GER)▪ adidas Golden Shoe: RONALDO (BRA)
▪ Yashin Award for the Best Goalkeeper: Oliver KAHN (GER)
▪ Best Young Player Award: Landon DONOVAN (USA)
▪ FIFA Fair Play award: Belgium
▪ FIFA Award for the Most Entertaining Team: Korea Republic
Technical Report
Brazil became...
tracking img