Solo disponible en BuenasTareas
  • Páginas : 8 (1948 palabras )
  • Descarga(s) : 0
  • Publicado : 13 de septiembre de 2012
Leer documento completo
Vista previa del texto
1- Types of Pentecostals:
* Classical Pentecostals
* Indigenous Pentecostals Denominations
* Independent Neo-Pentecostals
* The Charismatic Renewal. (Beginning in the mid-sixties)
* Proto-Charismatic Pentecostals.

Four Orientations within Pentecostalism
* Legalistic and “other worldly”
* Prosperity Gospel. Or Wealth and wealth churches.
* ProgressivePentecostalism
* Routinized Pentecostalism

2- Progressive Pentecostalism embraces the fundamental principles and expressions of traditional Pentecostalism, while embracing the continued progressive principles of human inclusion, social justice, ecumenism and political action. This confirms our belief that a hallmark of Pentecostalism is not only the demonstration of the Holy Spirit, but also theeradication of racial, ethnic, orientation and other barrier which is evidence of Christian love.
It focuses in the social lift within the human rights.
As Christian our goal is not to get involved in social aspect of humanity or politics. We have to be aware of it and act if necessary, but it is not as our primary objective as Christians.

3- Transformational Development
Is the processthat helps people to discover their true identity as children of God and to recover their true vocation as faithful and productive stewards of gifts from God for the well-being of all. Transformation development is seeking positive change in the whole human life materially, socially and spiritually.

Types of Social Concern
A. Relief
B. Development
C. Structural Change

A.Ministering to victims of natural or social disaster
* Seeking to provide immediate handouts of food, shelter or other necessities of life
Food and clothing distribution to inner-city residents
Disaster relief after a flood, earthquake of famine.
B. Seeking to help individuals, families and communities obtain appropriate tools, skills and knowledge to care for themselves.
Offeringbetter agricultural seeds and tools, digging wells and providing loans for small.
C. This happens at the macro level of law, politics ad economic life.
In order to create greater freedom, democracy, economic justice and environmental stability.

4- Sider’s Four Divergent Models
* Individualistic Evangelical
* Radical Anabaptist
* Dominant Ecumenical
* Secular ChristianIndividualistic Evangelical:
Billy Graham, Born again Christian should challenge racism and oppression and work to improve society. But social justice is “not our primary mission.”
Our primary mission is to go to the individual and see to it that every person has adequate knowledge of faith, ready for heaven.
Evangelism is primary.
Two Subgroups.
- Lausanne covenant; Evangelism andsocial action are both part of our Christian duty
In the church’s mission of sacrificial service, evangelism is primary.
- Arthur Johnson; Believed that the Lausanne covenant conceded too much to the WCC.

Radical Anabaptist:
View sin as the evangelicals, but place more emphasis on the community ad being active in that group.
Evangelism happened by word of mouth and a life ofdiscipleship.
Living in conversion and offering new models to follow is the way to change society.
They find a small place for political engagement.
They accurately state that Jesus did not engage the politics of his day.

Dominant Ecumenical:
The conversion of individuals and the restructuring of society are at the core of his model.
Both persons and social structures are object ofsalvation.
The understanding of person and sin is holistic.
The liberation theologians endorse this model.
Three Subtypes.
* The liberal Subtype: They de-emphasize the vertical side of sin and salvation – sin is alienation from one’s neighbor.
* Neglect evangelism and major on sociopolitical engagement.
* The sins they denounce are social sins of oppression and socioeconomic...
tracking img