Process of experiencing loss, dying and death

Solo disponible en BuenasTareas
  • Páginas : 5 (1167 palabras )
  • Descarga(s) : 0
  • Publicado : 30 de octubre de 2010
Leer documento completo
Vista previa del texto

Results that Samuel learn that he has a tumor in his head but he pass telling to his family that he will overcome his illness and he never accepts his condition and finally died. As a result, Samuel was in a stage of denial where the family never could withdraw him from this stage.

As we can perceive grief, dying and death are verypersonal and each person confronts his experience in a unique form. We can say “dying is a process, death is an event and grief is a response”.

In our daily lives we deal with these experiences whatever be the death of a family member or the suffering of a death-ending illness.

Kubler-Ross identifies five stages of a grief and loss:
1. Denial: when a person do notaccept reality
2. Anger: A person in this stage express their anger and rage
3. Bargaining: When a person wants to do anything to change what is overcoming to them.
4. Depression: A time when the lost of a person is vivid, feeling sorrow and loneliness over the lost.
5. Acceptance: When people can focus and accept in a real manner the lost of the loving person.We have to understand that a person might experience this stage in different order or might or might not pass all stages in order to overcome the loss. Also, we have to understand cultural influences of perception of the loss of a loving one.

There is one factor that influence grief and is the person age. For example: Infants: perceive the loss if someone is not there to feed,clothe, hold and love. Toddlers: can not understand animate form inanimate. They feel anxious if someone is not there to care for them. Children age 6 – 10: are curious about death itself. The divorce of their parents can be difficult to overcome and accept. They might blame themselves for the divorce. Adolescents: are fascinate and at the same time fear about death. In this age, theadolescent might need the help of a professional to overcome the grief of the loving person or the divorced of their parents. Adults: might focus death as having financial problems. Elder adults: “grieve the aging process” and “fear a loss of independence”. Men: how they are perceived as the strong person and supportive they might have difficulty expressing what they feel. Women: easily expresstheir feelings and accept the support from others.

As I perceive, we can relate the process of loss, grief and death to the principles and insights of Sigmund Freud. Sigmund Freud emphasize that we do not own our own mind due to we are driven by many powerful unconscious process of wishes, fears, beliefs, conflicts, emotions or memories of which we are totally unaware affecting ourlifestyle. When we can not cope with the process of lost, the persons in our surroundings enter in feelings of anxiety, guilt, helpless, remorse because they feel they could have done more things for the one who loss. This feel of anxiety warns the organism of danger or a threat to its equilibrium. The anxiety is perceived as an increase in bodily or mental tension and the signal that the organismreceives in this way allows it the possibility of tanking defensive action towards the perceived danger (defense mechanism). “The purpose of the ego defense mechanism is to protect the mind/set/ego from anxiety, social sanctions or to provide a refuge from a situation with which one can not currently cope. The term defense mechanism refers to several types of reactions which will be applying toKubler-Ross process of grief and loss.

In the process of loss, grief and death, Sigmund Freud believes that the first process is a denial where the persons seem unable to face reality or admit a thrush as death. The persons want to believe that the death person is still sleep, that she will be able to embrace them. The persons in denial do not want to admit or recognize that the...
tracking img