Religious dietary practices

Solo disponible en BuenasTareas
  • Páginas : 9 (2013 palabras )
  • Descarga(s) : 0
  • Publicado : 21 de septiembre de 2010
Leer documento completo
Vista previa del texto

For most Christians, eating habits are not affected- though some will be vegetarians, usually for moral reason, and some will refrain from eating meat on Fridays. Some sects, for instance Mormons, have many rules and restrictions regarding eating and drinking, for sample complete abstinence from tea, coffee and alcohol and an emphasis on wholesomeeating.

Roman Catholicism
The dietary practices of devout Catholics center around the restriction of meat or fasting behaviors on specified holy days. On the designated days, Catholics may abstain from all food, or they may restrict meat and meat products. Water or no stimulant liquids are usually allowed during the fast.

Judaism (kosher) 
Jewish dietary laws are known as Kashrut that it ismean “proper or correct”, and are among the most complex of all religious food practices. The term Kosher or Kasher means “fit” and describes all foods that are permitted for consumption.
A Kosher kitchen is divided into separate sections one for dairy, meat and pareve. Different sets of utensils, pots, pans, plates, knives, chopping boards, one for meat and poultry and the other for dairyfoods. If your kitchen is not normally used for kosher food, it would be well advised to source a local Kosher caterer to provide a certified kosher meal for the guest. They would provide Kosher utensils, cups, plates for the occasion. The meal can easily be re heated in an oven or microwave but must be keep covered so the guest can see the rabbinic certifications seal is intact. In most major citiesthere are supermarkets, shops and caterers that provide kosher prepared foods and products.
Many Jewish people practice some or all of these restrictions in various degrees. It would be best to inquire as to what if any restrictions they have.
* No pork and shellfish.
* Fish is acceptable as long as it has fins and scales.
* All animals with split hooves and which chew the cud(including sheep and cows)
* Refrain from eating meat and dairy products at the same meal
* No wine, unless its kosher wine
* All meat has to be prepared by a qualified kosher butcher (SHOCHET)
* If meat was eaten in the same day, one must wait six hours before consuming any dairy products

This religion has various food restrictions according to there own dietarylaws, which are Halaal. Muslim celebrate the birth of Mohammed at the end of February or early in March. During the holy month of Ramadan, Muslims are not allowed to eat from dawn to sunset. However young children, pregnant women and the sick are often exempted. As similar to other religions, it would be advisable to enquire as to what restrictions the guest has.
* Carnivorous animals arenot permitted.
* All pork and pork products are totally forbidden.
* Sea animals which do not have fins or scales are considered undesirable by some Muslims.
* Alcohol in any form is not permitted.
* Permissible meat other than pork can be eaten only if it is prepared in the correct way (Halaal).
* These products should be avoided by all Muslims, Lard, gelatine, Rennet,Whey, Vanilla extract.
* (some vanilla extracts have over 50% alcohol)
* Utensils should be separate for Muslims. There should be no contamination of Halaal and non Halaal.

Hindus do not consume any foods that might slow down spiritual or physical growth. The eating of meat is not prohibited, but pork, fowl, ducks, snails, crabs, and camels are avoided. The cow is sacred toHindus, and therefore no beef is consumed. Other products from the cow, however, such as milk, yogurt, and butter are considered innately pure and are thought to promote purity of the mind, spirit, and body.
Many devout Hindus fast on the eighteen major Hindu holidays, as well as on numerous personal days, such as birthdays and anniversaries of deaths and marriages. They also fast on Sundays and...
tracking img