Solo disponible en BuenasTareas
  • Páginas : 2 (389 palabras )
  • Descarga(s) : 0
  • Publicado : 16 de agosto de 2012
Leer documento completo
Vista previa del texto
Association football, more commonly known as football or soccer, can be traced to as far back as the Medieval period in Britain (medieval football). The modern game of association football originatesfrom the formation of The Football Association in London, England in 1863 bass on multiple efforts to standardize the varying forms of the game. This allowed clubs to play each other without disputeand which specifically banned handling of the ball during open field play and hacking after the fifth meeting of the association (hence the division between association football and rugby football).At the time, football clubs had played by their own, individual codes and game-day rules had usually to be agreed upon before a match could commence. For example, the Sheffield Rules that applied tomost matches played in the Sheffield area were a different code.

The FIFA World Cup, often simply the World Cup, is an international association footballcompetition contested by the senior men'snational teams of the members of Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the sport's global governing body. The championship has been awarded every four years since the inauguraltournament in 1930, except in 1942 and 1946 when it was not held because of the Second World War. The current champions are Spain, who won the 2010 tournament.
The current format of the tournament involves32 teams competing for the title at venues within the host nation(s) over a period of about a month; this phase is often called theWorld Cup Finals. A qualification phase, which currently takes placeover the preceding three years, is used to determine which teams qualify for the tournament together with the host nation(s).
The 19 World Cup tournaments have been won by eight different nationalteams. Brazilhave won five times, and they are the only team to have played in every tournament. The other World Cup winners are Italy, with four titles; Germany, with three titles; Argentinaand...
tracking img