A variety of vegetarian food ingredients that are also vegan.
Vegetarian cuisine refers to food that meets vegetarian standards by excluding meat and animal tissue products. For lacto-ovo vegetarianism (the most common type of vegetarianism in the Western world), eggs and dairy products such as milk and cheese are permitted. The strictest forms of vegetarianism are veganismand fruitarianism, which exclude all animal products, including dairy products as well as honey, and even some refined sugars if filtered and whitened with bone char.
Vegetarian foods can be classified into several different types:
* Traditional foods that have always been vegetarian (Cereals/grains, fruits, vegetables, nuts, etc.)
* Soy products including Tofu and Tempeh which arecommon protein sources.
* Textured vegetable protein (TVP), made from defatted soy flour, often included in chili and burger recipes in place of ground meat.
* Meat analogues, which mimic the taste, texture, and appearance of meat and are often used in recipes that traditionally contained meat.
* Vegans may also use analogues for eggs and dairy products.
Contents[hide] * 1 Foods used invegetarian cuisine * 2 Cuisine that is traditionally vegetarian * 2.1 National cuisines * 2.2 Desserts and sweets * 3 Cuisine that uses meat analogues * 4 Commercial products * 5 See also * 6 References |
Foods used in vegetarian cuisine
Food regarded as suitable for vegetarians typically includes:
* Cereals/grains: maize, hempseed, corn, wheat, rice, barley, sorghum,millet, oats, rye, triticale, buckwheat, fonio, quinoa; derived products such as flour (dough, bread, pasta, baked goods).
* Vegetables (fresh or pickled) and mushrooms (though some strict Indian vegetarians do not eat mushrooms); derived products such as vegetable fats and oils
* Fruit (fresh or dried)
* Legumes: beans (including soybeans and soy products such as tempeh, tofu, soymilk, and TVP), chickpeas, peas, lentils, peanuts)
* Tree nuts and seeds
* Spices and herbs
* Other foods such as seaweed (however seaweed is considered inedible by some strict vegetarians for the same reason it can be considered as non-kosher by some: the possibility that various tiny animals may be found adhering to it.)
Food suitable for several types of the vegetarian cuisine:
*Dairy products (milk, butter, cheese (except for cheese containing rennet of animal origin), yogurt (excluding yogurt made with gelatin), etc) – not eaten by vegans and pure ovo-vegetarians
* Eggs – not eaten by vegans and pure lacto-vegetarians
* Honey – not eaten by most vegans
Cuisine that is traditionally vegetarian
These are some of the most common dishes that vegetarians in theWestern world eat without substitution of ingredients. Such dishes include, from breakfasts to dinnertime desserts:
Vegetarian food products made from cereal grains.
* Gujarati cuisine from state of Gujarat in western India and Kannada cuisine amongst Brahmins is predominantly vegetarian.
* Many bean, pasta, potato, rice, and bulgur/cous cous dishes, stews, soups and stir fries.
*Cereals and oatmeals, granola bars, etc
* Fresh fruit and most salads
* Potato salad, baba ganoush, pita-wraps or burrito-wraps, vegetable pilafs, baked potatoes or fried potato-skins with various toppings, corn on the cob, smoothies
* Many sandwiches, such as cheese on toast, and cold sandwiches including roasted eggplant, mushrooms, bell peppers, cheeses, avocado and other sandwichingredients
* Many side dishes, such as mashed potatoes, scalloped potatoes, some bread stuffings, seasoned rice, and macaroni and cheese.
* Classical Buddhist cuisine in Asia served at temples and restaurants with a green sign indicating vegetarian food only near temples
Buddha's delight, a famous Chinese vegetarian dish.
* Indian cuisine in Asia is replete with...
Leer documento completo
Regístrate para leer el documento completo.