English culture

Solo disponible en BuenasTareas
  • Páginas : 26 (6435 palabras )
  • Descarga(s) : 0
  • Publicado : 8 de diciembre de 2011
Leer documento completo
Vista previa del texto

Why is England or the UK sometimes called Britain?
"England" is sometimes, wrongly, used in reference to the whole United Kingdom, the entire island of Great Britain (or simply Britain), or indeed the British Isles. This is not only incorrect but can cause offence to people from other parts of theUK.
England, Scotland, Wales, Great Britain refer to different 'parts of the UK. The British Isles includes many islands not even part of the UK.
| | |
England | Scotland | Wales |
| | |
Great Britain | UK | British Isles |
The diverse history of England, Scotland and Wales has led to very different cultural traditions; The Scots and Welsh have right to feel aggrieved whenever theterm 'English' is used wrongly, to mean all three.

Countries within a Country - The United Kingdom
The name United Kingdom refers to the union of what were once four separate countries: England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland (though most of Ireland is now independent, only Northern Ireland remains part of the UK).
The UK's full and official name is the "United Kingdom of Great Britain andNorthern Ireland".

History of the making of the UK
1536 – Act of Union joins England and Wales
1707 - Act of Union unites Scotland and England, together with Wales to form the Kingdom of Great Britain. 
1801 - The Irish Parliament voted to join the Union. The then Kingdom of Great Britain becomes theUnited Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland. 
1922 - Name changed to United Kingdom of GreatBritain and Northern Ireland, when most of the Southern counties in Ireland choose independence.
Great Britain
Great Britain comprises only England, Scotland and Wales.
The Islands in the British Isles
The British Isles consists of the following islands:
* Great Britain: (England, Scotland and Wales)
* Ireland: (the Republic of Irland) A country west of England across the Irish Sea (notpart of the United Kingdom)
* Northern Ireland: (part of the United Kingdom)
* The Orkney and Shetland Islands: Islands off the northeast coast of Scotland.
* The Isle of Man: An island in the Irish Sea
* Hebrides: (including the Inner Hebrides, Outer Hebrides and Small Isles) All are islands off the northwest coast of Scotland.
* The Isle of Wight: An island off the southerncoast of England
* Isles of Scilly: An island off the southwest coast of England
* Lundy Island:An island off the southwest coast of England
* The Channel Islands: A group of small islands in the English Channel, off the coast of Normandy, France. The principal islands of the group include Jersey, Guernsey, Alderney and Sark.
* Plus many other offshore islands.

The story of theUnited Kingdom and the Union Flag

The Union Flag, popularly known as the *Union Jack, is the national flag of the United Kingdom. It is the British flag.
It is called the Union Flag because it symbolises the administrative union of the countries of the United Kingdom. It is made up up of the individual Flags of three of the Kingdom's countries all united under one Sovereign - the countriesof 'England, of 'Scotland' and of 'Northern Ireland' (since 1921 only Northern Ireland has been part of the United Kingdom). As Wales was not a Kingdom but a Principality it could not be included on the flag.

Where is England?
England is in north-west Europe and is in the southern part of Great Britain. It is an island country and also part of the United Kingdom (UK). England is the largestcountry in Great Britain and the UK.
Nearly 84% of the population of the UK lives in England, mainly in the major cities and metropolitan areas.
Does England have its own government?
England has not had a separate political identity since 1707, when Great Britain was established as a political entity. There is no government or parliament just for England.
What is the Land like in England?...
tracking img