Suriname p

Solo disponible en BuenasTareas
  • Páginas : 7 (1705 palabras )
  • Descarga(s) : 0
  • Publicado : 27 de febrero de 2012
Leer documento completo
Vista previa del texto
The flag of Suriname is formed by five horizontal bands of green (top, double width), white, red (quadruple width), white, and green (double width). There is a large, yellow, five-pointed star centered in the red band. The flag was adopted on November 25, 1975, upon the independence of Suriname. The star represents the unity of all ethnic groups, the red stripe stands for progress and love,the green for hope and fertility, and the white bands for peace and justice.

Opo kondreman oen opo
Sranan gron e kari oen.
Wans ope tata komopo,
Wi moes seti kondre boen.
Stre de f'stre wi no sa frede
Gado de wi fesiman.
Heri libi te na dede,
Wi sa fetigi Sranan.

Political Status
The Republic of Suriname is a constitutional, democratically representational republic based onthe 1987 constitution. The legislative branch of government consists of a 51-member unicameral National Assembly, simultaneously and popularly elected for a five-year term.
During the recently held elections on Tuesday 25 Maythe "Megacombinatie" won 23 of the National Assembly seats followed by "Nationale Front" with 20 seats. A much smaller but important for the collaboration went to the 'A-combinatie"and to the "Volksalliantie". For more details the reader can visit the website of the "25 mei" or from the "ministerie van binnenlandse zaken" which is the ministry of internal affairs. Currently negiotations are going on in and between parties regarding the formation of the coalition for the coming five years.
The President of Suriname, who is elected for a five-year term by atwo-thirds majority of the National Assembly or, failing that, by a majority of the People's Assembly, heads the executive branch. If at least two-thirds of the National Assembly cannot agree to vote for one presidential candidate, a People's Assembly is formed from all National Assembly delegates and regional and municipal representatives who were elected by popular vote in the most recentnational election. As head of government, the president appoints a 16-minister cabinet. A vice president, normally elected at the same time as the president, needs a simple majority in the National Assembly or People's Assembly to be elected for a 5-year term. There is no constitutional provision for removal or replacement of the president unless he resigns.
The judiciary is headed by the Court ofJustice (Supreme Court). This court supervises the magistrate courts. Members are appointed for life by the president in consultation with the National Assembly, the State Advisory Council and the National Order of Private Attorneys. In April 2005, the regional Caribbean Court of Justice, based in Trinidad, was inaugurated. As the final court of appeal, it was intended to replace the London-based PrivyCouncil.
The country is divided into 10 administrative districts, each headed by a district commissioner appointed by the president. The commissioner is similar to the governor of a United States-type state, but is appointed and removed by the president.

Due to its location and history, the cuisine of Suriname shows a combination of several different cultures. Caribbean recipes combinedwith elements brought by the Dutch culture, Chinese, Jewish, Lebanese, Indian, West African, Spanish, and French, among others. The variety of recipes and ingredients that combined makes the cuisine of Suriname is very varied and interesting.

Typical Surinamese Food

A Surinamese dish
The koto is a traditional dress from the Afro-Surinamese women or Creoles in Suriname. The...
tracking img