Five pilars of islam

Solo disponible en BuenasTareas
  • Páginas : 12 (2792 palabras )
  • Descarga(s) : 0
  • Publicado : 9 de marzo de 2012
Leer documento completo
Vista previa del texto
…::Saudi Arabia::…

People Population: 26,131,703
Population Growth Rate: 1.536%
Life expectancy at birth: Total population: 74.11 years
Male: 72.15 years
Female: 76.16 years
Nationality: Saudi, Saudi, or Saudi Arabian
Religion: Muslim 100%
Languages: Arabic
Literacy: 78.8% of all population
Male: 84.7%
Female: 70.8%

Location: Middle East, bordering the Persian Gulf and the Red Sea, north of Yemen
Area: total: 2,149,690 sq km
Land: 2,149,690 sq km
Water: 0 sq km
Climate: harsh, dry desert with great temperature extremes
Natural Resources: petroleum, natural gas, iron ore, gold, copper

GDP- real growth rate:
3.8% (2010 est.)
0.1% (2009 est.)
4.3% (2008 est.)
Laborforce by occupation:
Agriculture: 6.7%
Industry: 21.4%
Services: 71.9% (2005 est.)
Unemployment rate:
10.8% (2010 est.)
10.5% (2009 est.)
Note: data are for Saudi males only (local bank estimates; some estimates range as high as 25%)
Investment: 24.5% of GDP
Revenues: $185.1 billion
Expenditures: $173.1 billion
Current Account Balance: $52.03 billion

Five pillars of IslamThe five pillars of Islam are the foundation beliefs that shape Muslim thinking, deed, and society. The Qur'an presents them as a framework for worship and a sign of commitment to the faith. A Muslim needs to fulfill the Five Pillars of Islam, remain in the faith of Islam, and sincerely repents of his sins, in order to go to Jannah (paradise). However if a person achieves the Five Pillars butdoes not remain in the faith, this person will not be saved. Accomplishing these five pillars reflects total submission to God from the Muslims. (Slick)
The pillars of Islam are the following:
1. Shahada (confession): Islamic proclamation that "There is no true God except Allah and Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah." This is the confession that Allah is the one and only true God. Allah alone isworthy of worship. Allah alone is the sovereign lord who does what he wills with whoever he wills. It means that all his rules and laws found in the Qur’an are to be followed. It means that the Christian doctrine of God as a Trinity is false as are all other belief systems including pantheism. It establishes Muhammad as the true and greatest prophet of Allah and recognizes him, as the Prophet of Godis required. It was through Muhammad that Allah conveyed the last and final revelation. Muslims are required to believe that Muhammad is the only messenger that God has. It is recited in Arabic. It is also said when dying Muslims should recite this declaration of faith. It is also say when a person wishes to convert religions they should recite this affirmation and believe in it.
2. Salat(prayer): confession of sins, which begins with the purification of the body and ends with the purification of the soul. Prayer is performed five times a day. There are different names for the prayers, Fajr, Dhuhr, Asr, Maghrib, Isha. Prayers are said at dawn, noon, mid-afternoon, sunset, and nightfall, and thus determine the rhythm of the entire day.  Each prayer consists of a certain amountof rakaʿāt (movements). Muslims must wash themselves before prayer. The prayer is accompanied by a series of set positions including; bowing with hands on knees, standing, prostrating and sitting in a special position usually with one foot tucked under the body. Muslims are admonished to be in constant prayer to keep their lives in perspective.
3. Saum (fasting): it takes place during the month of Ramadan,which is the month of fasting in Islam. It is an act of worship where the faithful follower denies his own needs and seeks Allah. Usually, this fasting entails no drinking, eating, or sexual relations during the daylight hours for the entire month of Ramadan. Fasting is necessary for every Muslim over the age of 11. The purpose of fasting underscores self-discipline, dependence on God, and...
tracking img